8 March 2018

The Finance Sector Union of Australia (FSU) is concerned about the numbers of bank branches being closed down by the Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA).

The CBA has notified the Union it will close branches in the following areas:

*   Guyra
*   Collaroy Plateau
*   Rylstone
*   Hunters Hill
*   Rose Bay

*   Yea
*   Keilor

Finance Sector Union National Secretary Julia Angrisano said communities around Australia were being abandoned by the CBA.

The CBA closures follow a spate of ANZ and NAB branches closing their doors on small and regional communities.

“These closures will hit local communities hard and bank workers will be struggling to find other work in areas where jobs are scarce,” Ms Angrisano said.

“Banking is an essential service, especially in regional communities and customers rely on their bank having a branch that they can access.”

Ms Angrisano said that when a branch closes, it impacts on bank workers, local communities and regional economies.

The Finance Sector Union is working with its members and the community to build an industry plan for the future of the finance sector.  A guiding principle for this plan is that banking is an essential service to both bank workers and the communities that they serve.

“Instead of closing branches the Finance Sector Union is calling on the CBA to properly consult with its workers and communities about the future of its branch network before taking decisions to abandon branches.”

“Banks have an obligation to the communities that support them. The sheer number of closures says one thing about the CBA, that they care more about profits than people.”

“We believe the CBA should be concentrating on repairing its culture and standing in the community.”

“The restoration of trust and confidence that the banks badly need to address with the community is being compromised by the numbers of bank closures, particularly in regional Australia.”

“It’s time for the CBA to repay the loyalty of its customers and workers by genuinely giving them a voice in the future of the branch network.”


Media contact John Hill 0412197079


Authorised by Julia Angrisano, National Secretary