Westpac Axes More Branches

Wednesday, 25 July 2018

Westpac have announced plans to permanently shut the doors on eleven branches across their retail network, resulting in the axing of 56 jobs.

This latest announcement by Westpac comes hot on the heels of recent announcements by other banks to close significant numbers of branches across their retail networks.  In fact, since the start of 2017 over 280 branches have been closed by Westpac, CBA, ANZ and NAB.

This is not good enough. Australians deserve access to essential services such as banks.

FSU calls on Westpac to maximise redeployment opportunities for impacted staff and consult with workers, communities and the FSU about the future of its branch network.

The Westpac branches identified for closure are:

  • West Ryde (NSW)
  • 530 Collins St (VIC)
  • Sherwood (QLD)
  • Gosnells (WA)
  • Moonah (TAS)
  • Belmont (NSW)
  • 142 Elizabeth Street Melbourne (VIC)
  • Blackburn (VIC)

The Bank of Melbourne branches identified for closure are:

  • Corio (VIC)
  • Richmond (VIC)
  • Tarneit (VIC)

Are you Impacted?

If you are impacted and want to retain a role, speak up as part of the consultation process currently underway.

The Westpac Group Enterprise Agreement 2016 (EA), sets out your rights and entitlements, including what steps Westpac must undertake in consulting you about the proposed branch closures.

The agreement provisions include:

  • Genuine consultation periods to consider members’ feedback about proposed changes;
  • Measures Westpac will take to mitigate the adverse affect of the change;
  • Fair redeployment process that includes access to case mangers and consideration of employee preferences.

If you and your colleagues are impacted, make sure you have all the facts. FSU members can access our Member Rights Centre on 1300 366 378.

Authorised by Julia Angrisano, National Secretary