FSU News

NSW Bank Holiday – Know your rights

The New South Wales Bank Holiday takes place on the first Monday in August each year, for NSW only.  

On Monday 7 August, the retail banking business of banks and the retail businesses of financial institutions must not open. 

However, there are some exceptions to this rule.  

  • The retail banking business of a bank (such as a branch) can only open if approval has been given by the NSW government to do so, or
  • Employees have freely elected to work on Bank Holiday. 
  • The retail business of a financial institution can only open in the following circumstances: 
    • employees have freely elected to work on Bank Holiday, or 
    • an enterprise agreement applies that provides that employees receive a substituted day off in lieu of working Bank Holiday, or 
    • the retail business of the financial institution has no more than five employees. 

This means unless any of the above exceptions are met, staff should not be required or requested to work on this day.  

If you have any concerns about your rights in relation to Bank Holiday, contact our FSU Member Rights Centre on 1300 366 378.  

Authorised by Julia Angrisano, National Secretary